45

I’ve clearly needed a lot of time to formulate words about the election, I haven’t posted since before November 8th. Two months later and Donald Trump is the 45th President of the United States of America.

That escalated quickly, huh?

Never in a million years did I ever see this one coming, but guess what, it came. Donald Trump is our president and everyone needs to calm down about 18 notches.

Although Trump was probably my very last pick from the long list of Republican candidates, I’m proud that he is our president. I wish him the very best during these four years, just as I would have hoped for the best had Hillary Clinton won.


However, it seems as though that idea of gracious losing is lost on many Democrats. This is why I’ve taken so long to post, not because I’m “scared” of those on the left, I’m tired. I’m exhausted. I’m sick of having to defend myself and my political party all day and all night. We won but it felt as though we lost. I feel a little empty sometimes. I hope you all can understand this. If I can easily point out the faults of Donald Trump, why can’t you find something positive? Is it really that difficult to have a courteous conversation these days?

Today as I watched the coverage of the inauguration of our 45th president, I was astonished to see upset liberals breaking windows of Starbucks and setting limos on fire. I see post after post about people being “scared” and I’m lost. I am 100% positive that NO American will lose ANY rights under this administration. Sure, if it happens you can pull up this post and say I TOLD YOU SO JESSICA, but for right now, I think people are being a little ludicrous and very dramatic. The day anyone I care about loses any rights, I’ll be right there with them, working to undo any wrongs with all my hearts.


 

Tomorrow thousands of women (and men) will march on Washington D.C. It’s been said that this is NOT a protest against Trump and I hope they actually follow through on that. I’m worried that many of the women who are attending would rather see Trump burn at the stake then work with him to achieve progress, and I find that disappointing. I don’t think they’ll be happy with anything this president does, even if it is in their favor.  However, I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt and hope they feel a semblance of peace after their march.

I have all the faith that President Trump will work to make America a better place for ALL Americans, but I do not think all Americans have faith in Trump, and that’s fine. America was built on discourse and debate and I will defend that to the death. Right now, this defending is exhausting me, but here I am, continuing to do so.

Finally, give President Trump a chance, it’s all I ask.

Leave comments, nice or mean, I’ve developed a thick skin this election…

 

 

Leave a Reply

